In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

Crime shows are increasingly popular amongst the younger generation. Many entertainment platforms showcase these movies and even suggest watching them. There are several reasons for this increasing trend and interest in violent shows. The reasons will be elaborated in the succeeding paragraphs. Firstly, crime shows generate curiosity in the minds of people. folk want to explore the psychology of the character committing these heinous and violent acts. For most folk, understanding the human mind and deciphering the various facets of a character's personality is fascinating. Moreover, abnormal psychology and criminal psychology have been intriguing and delving into the minds of people who lack empathy such as psychopaths has been a topic with a lot of appeal. Secondly, another reason for the popularity of violent crime shows, is the thrill of witnessing danger and this experience generates an adrenaline rush within the viewer. This can, in turn cause the person a temporary feeling of high within the person's mind. To illustrate, the latest crime show being aired on Netflix, called Dahmer was based on the life of the serial killer, Jeffrey Dahmer. He murdered several black African males and the crimes were sexual in nature. The show was made in such a manner that it draws the viewer into the mind of the serial killer, leaving you wanting to watch the next episode, as the story seems unfinished after each episode. However, although crime shows are fascinating, they can influence younger folk into a life of violent crime. Young people may be tempted to emulate the actions they witness on screen and in TV shows. This could be highly detrimental to impressionable minds as more young communities would be desensitized to the violence. Therefore, I am of the opinion that creators of TV shows and those responsible for media content being released, should be careful with the sort of content they release on mainstream platforms such as Netflix.