The best way for the government to solve the problem of traffic congestion is to provide free public transport 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Never has the topic concerning public service failed to attract the public’s attention. However, when it comes to whether providing public transportation all the time is the most useful way to surmount traffic jams, I tend to agree that it is a feasible method for this issue, but not the best one. It is undeniable that the availability of public transport at every moment can mitigate traffic congestion. To begin with, compared with private vehicles, mass transit such as buses and subways definitely has a larger capacity to accommodate a huge influx of passengers commuting at the same time of day. This might greatly help the government to reduce the thousands of people moving on-peak hours, thereby alleviating this issue to a large extent. Apart from this, the price of using public transportation is far less than that of a private vehicle. As local dwellers do not need to bear the maintenance fees and the charge of petrol, the majority of citizens will naturally choose to use this more economical way when commuting, which leads to fewer demands of those private cars running on the streets. However, this solution will exert some repercussions at the same time and many other effective options can be done to solve this problem. Chances are that the government’s burden will be severely exacerbated by this measure, for the reason that those relevant institutions need to spend more revenue on recruiting transport staff in order to support a perpetual service to the public. Under such circumstances, the government is supposed to enhance the enforcement of laws and legislations or even introduce more relevant policies. For instance, some initiatives implemented in China divide all of those vehicles into different groups and only the certain one is allowed to run on the streets every single day. This ingenious measure has already benefited its national road condition. In conclusion, even though 24-hour public transportation can be a good way to alleviate traffic congestion, it is undoubtedly not the best option. Other methods like strengthening the supervision of private cars will be more effective.