Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Presently, universities are offering a variety of courses worldwide. The idea of whether students should pursue their interests because of passion and job satisfaction or offer courses only relevant in the future, for instance, those related to science and technology because of job opportunities and higher income is still debatable. This essay discusses both viewpoints and my opinion in alignment with the latter will be given. On the one hand, individuals supporting the view of students studying whatever they like often point to passion and work satisfaction. For good work performance and maximum work output, people need to have the drive for whatever they do. For instance, university students who pursue their interests become good co-workers and managers according to a survey conducted among newly employed workers in one company in the Eastern Region of Ghana. On the other hand, Even though one’s passion is essential when choosing a course to study in college, however, its usefulness in years to come is also paramount. Scholars are therefore encouraged to offer courses such as; engineering, IT, and medicine. This is because the world is evolving and the advancement of technology is also on the rise. A lot of new inventions are in existence and people with knowledge in the fields of science and technology are required to take on such reputable jobs. For example, in Ghana, graduates who studied engineering and IT get employed by big companies and receive huge amounts of income compared to those who offer history or archaeology. In conclusion, whereas scholars should be allowed to take on programs they love because it results in career satisfaction, in my perspective, programs related to science and technology should be viewed as beneficial and relevant because of job opportunities and the financial rewards that come with them.