Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of suger, which causes many health problems. Sugery products should be made more expensive to cncourage people to consume less suger.

It is argued that numerous processed food and beverage products contain high level of sugar, which can result in a lot of health issues. Therefore, the price of sugary products should be more expensive to prevent people from consuming more sugar. This essay agrees with this statement because sugar is indeed one of key factors leading to serious diseases and raising its price will make people less likely to consume sugar. Sugar is widely know as one of the reasons why people are suffering from health problems. It is because sugar overconsumption may result in several diseases including diabetes and obesity. Given this fact, people should indeed lower their sugar intake to prevent these aforementioned health issues. For instance, based on a study conducted by the University of Indonesia in 2020, it was reported that the risk of diabetes and overweight could be decreased up to 45% when the sugar intake was limited to 5 grams per day. In addition, increasing the price of sugar will indeed help reduce the consumption, as people will think harder before using sugar if they have to pay more money. This is also consistent with one of economic principles that stated the higher price of products might discourage consumers from purchasing or using the product. For example, according to an annual report released by Manna Kampus, one of well-known local chainstores, the purchasing rate of sugar declined significantly when the store decided to charge a higher price back in 2021. In conclusion, this essay agrees that the price of sugar should be raised as this product may cause various health problems and the higher price will force people to lower their sugar intake.