Nowadays, many schools find it profitable to sell unhealthy food and sugary drinks to students during lunch breaks. Is this a positive or negative development?

These days the majority of schools offer to students meals and drinks with high concentrations of sugar, fat and carbs. It means that kids don't have a healthy alternative for lunch at school. I think that selling unhealthy foodstuffs and drinks in educational facilities is a negative development because it leads to forming unhealthy food patterns and increases the risk of diseases at an early age. First of all, eating unhealthy lunch on an everyday basis develops a strong habit to choose this type of food even when there is a healthy option. It is believed that when people need to make a decision about what to eat, more likely to choose the familiar one, which they have already eaten before. For example, if kids drink chocolate milk every day at school, they never will take a bottle of water from the refrigerator at home by themselves. That is why so important to prevent the development of unhealthy food habits for children and teach them a balanced diet. Secondly, food with high amounts of fats and sugar has a negative effect on health and increases the risk of obesity and heart disease. Usually, this food contains too many calories, which means that we can eat significantly more than we need. On average kid needs 1800-2000 calories daily, but just one lunch with a cheeseburger and coke can weigh about 900 calories. As a result, kids don't even recognise that they eat too much and start to gain weight. In its turn, being overweight can be a reason for other diseases, especially in the cardiovascular system. To sum up, I totally do not accept the fact that schools find it profitable to sell unhealthy supplies to students. I believe that this negative development should stop in the future because an unhealthy diet causes a lot of health problems.