The government intends to ban smoking in public areas. Some people say that it is a good idea, but others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Smoking has been a hazardous habit throughout the world for centuries. Some population believe a refusal on smoking in public areas can reduce some of the dangers of smoking. However, others say that prohibition can bring some harmful effects too. First of all, in a public area, such as a park, there could be smokers and non- smokers. When a community smoke in such places it can not only affect smokers but also has an effect on non- smokers. This is called passive smoking and it can cause more harm than active smoking. Also, children and young adults can see smokers enjoying smoking. This may create an interest in them to smoke. Therefore, without their knowledge, smokers can induce others to smoke. Thus, a ban on smoking can reduce all the above harmful effects. However, the refusal may also create some problems. When people are forced to stop smoking in public areas, they may choose to smoke at home. When they do this, their family can be affected negatively. The smokers ’ children can be affected by passive smoking and they may get addicted to it by following adults. In addition, this boycott can have an effect on tourism. Tourists may choose a country where they can smoke than visit a non-smoking country. This could especially affect countries that are dependent on tourism. In conclusion, I would like to say that it is very difficulties to force the community to stop smoking in public areas. Instead, the government should implement awareness programs to make the public understand that it is good to quit smoke. This will help us to built a healthy society and a green country