In some schools and universities, girls tend to choose art (e.g. literature), and boys tend to choose science subjects (e.g. physics). Why do you think this is so? Should this tendency be changed?

We can tell a lot about a student by the subject they choose in their university. While girls are believed to have opted for an art subject (e.g. literature), boys are believed to have a liking for science subjects (e.g. physics). In this essay, I will give some reasons as to why this happens and explain my view with examples. Firstly, each and every individual has a liking of their own. There might be a possibility where women think subjects such as science tend to be monotonous and difficult in nature. Where as the field of literature is more varied, is more suitable to their liking and has different criterias to choose from. On the other hand, family pressure plays an essential role in the subject that boys choose. For instance, a survey presented by BBC revealed that around 75% of male students opted for science as their course under peer pressure. Secondly, I believe parents should allow their children to pursue any subject of their choice. This should not be limited for the courses of science and arts, but also for the other fields like commerce, biology and sports. If the students are forced to choose something which they do not like, then there are high chances of them performing poor in these subjects. In addition, this might affect their confidence and would create problems for the entirety of the course. For example, a student proficient in math, if forced to follow a completely different line of course would find it problematic to conclude the course. In conclusion, although it is belived that girls are more likely to choose arts and boys have a liking for science, I believe it should be left upon the individuals to choose a stream which they like. This would not only make them confident, but they would gain expertise in their primary profession.