in the future people may longer be able to pay for things in shops using cash. all payments may have to be made by card or using phones do you think this will happen one day? why do you think some people might not be happy to give up using cash?

Many believe that due to technological advances in financial systems, the payment methods will dramatically develop in the near future and the public tendency for using cash will be declined. This essay will discuss the paradigm shift toward utilizing cards and phones instead of cash for daily payments and state the writer’s opinions on the possibility of this change while mentioning the reasoning of those who still prefer cash. In spite of many disadvantages such as lack of security, damage, cost and inconvenience during carrying large amounts, cash was the only way of purchasing goods for most people; however, in the recent years, by the invention of credit cards and smartphones, new payment methods are being introduced which are gaining popularity especially among young generations. Moreover, during the Covid-19 breakthrough, this concerned raised that the cash might be a means of disease spreading, thus many people discontinued using cash for daily purchases and preferred electronic devices over cash for their daily life. As cards and smartphones are more convenient and secure, the tendency to use them instead of cash is growing dramatically, however there are some people who are against this change, reminding that such resistances to accept new technologies has always been present in the history of mankind. The author believes that main reason for this might be the tendency to stick to old habits, as many might find it difficult to accept and trust new banking systems and smartphone applications for buying and selling stuff. In conclusion, it seems that this revolution has already happened, and while a tiny majority of people, specially older generations are lagging to accept it, most people are enjoying the convenience and security of using new payment methods.