With a great variety of social networking websites, people often add complete strangers to their lists. Do you think that this tendency helps people to find new friends or it's just a mean to increase their self-esteem. Justify your opinion with relevant examples.

In the present age, social media gain great popularity among the public and they add unfamiliar individuals to their friend lists. Some people assert that the main reason for this trend is increasing individuals’ self-confidence, whereas many others argue that they just want to make new friends. Personally, I’m in favour of the latter view. First of all, I believe that time has changed and the public contact each other via the internet. In other words, almost everybody spends their day surfing social media and chatting; therefore, they don’t have extra time to go out and find new friends. For example, these days, children prefer to play with their tablets or smartphones instead of playing outdoors and this leads them to have virtual friends and contact them online. Likewise, the youth spend the majority of their time online instead of wandering outside. Secondly, social networking websites are the best way to find your ideal friend, especially for shy people because on social websites everybody has a variety of options and they can easily communicate with them without any problem. For instance, in reality, students can communicate with almost two or three of their classmates but on social media, they can contact all their peers at the same time, and familiar with their feathers, and eventually choose the best one among them. To conclude, I strongly believe that people use social media to make friends and socialization because now, it’s a technology era, and also people can select arbitrary friends online via the internet.