With increasing population and ever-growing urban centres, many countries are losing their natural beauty spots. What benefits are there to protecting places of natural beauty? How can this be solved?

The ecological problem caused by the reduction of natural spots and deforestation of new residential areas is constantly growing in parallel with the rising level of urbanization. For the purpose of conservation of green spaces, some natural spots are protected by law. In the following paragraphs will be discussed advantages and drawbacks of this environmental policy. To begin with, the protection of natural lands through transforming them in National Prks or Scientific Reservations has a positive impact on ecological situation and stagnates climate change. Additionally, the reservations are the perfect places for hiking, jogging and other leisure activities, useful for human health. Furthermore, it contributes to protection of some rare species of animals that are extermination endangered and gives them suitable conditions to survive. On the other hand, it reduces the potential residential areas that may lead to lack of accommodations for citizens, leaving a lot of people homeless. However, this problem may be solved demolishing old houses and building new, modern skyscrapers with a huge capacity of flats. Therefore, the problem with living spots is solved and nature is protected. This being said, It comes to the conclusion that the Advantages of protected areas overdraw the disadvantages of such a policy, since the importance of natural spots for the planet are uncontestable, and all the alternatives that exist besides living places put the ecological problem in first place.