In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that this is the responsibility of governments to solve the problem. What extent do you agree or disagree?

Obesity on children is increasingly popular in many countries, which causes many harmful effects for their health. While I somewhat agree that governments have an essential role to perform in this obesity crisis, I also believe that the role of families and schools could not be underrated. On the one hand, governments are fundamental in tackling this problem. The government could launch campaigns on the harmful effects of overweightness to raise citizens’ awareness. For instance, the government can put restrictions on the advertisements of fast food on the television or on the internet and encourage children to use bicycles or exercise regularly. On the other hand, it is obvious that families and schools also have duties in mitigating the rate of obesity among children. To begin with, parents can encourage their children to maintain a balanced diet and get away from low calories products which are one of the main factors resulting in weight gain among children. Additionally, more physical activities should get involved in children ’s daily routine to avoid sedentary lifestyle, which is believed to be one of the primary causes leading to obesity. Taking regular exercise will make a great contribution to building a fit and strong body, thus restraining children from being overweight. Moreover, schools should organize physical activities such as exercise and folk dance at recess. For example, primary and secondary schools in Vietnam all organize exercises during recess. In conclusion, child obesity is an issue that needs to be tackled immediately. It is essential for the government, schools and parents to take actions so that the problem can be solved quickly and effectively.