Many parents are unhappy because of the increasing amount of violence in their children by computer games, TV programs and other leisure activities. What are the harmful effects of such violent programs on children? What are the solutions for this problem?

In modern society, children are exposed to many violent television programmes, online games and other leisure activities constantly. This premature exposure has negative impacts on children such as making them wild and violent. The issue needs to be addressed to prevent detrimental effects on the future generations. One of the main negative effects of violent computer games and shows is children are influenced by them easily. Furthermore, children who are very impressional tend not to be able to differentiate between games and real lives. Thus, when they face problems in life, they might choose to use violence to manage. Recent mass shootings at schools and increasing incidences of bullying are examples of these negative outcomes. We must find solutions in order to prevent this problem before it gets out of hand. One of the best solutions is education. Parents and teachers should talk to children and teach them so they can differentiate between real life and the virtual world. Moreover, parents should spend more quality time with their children doing healthy activities such as doing sports or organising family trips, which can strengthen their bonds. If children have good relationships with their parents, they will be more confident and fulfilled. Nonetheless, parents should also be vigilant about the programmes that their children are watching at all times. In summary, online violent programmes and games have serious negative effects on children. Children could become violent and difficult to manage later. Parents should closely monitor children's activities and spend more time with them to curtail this issue.