Some people think that climate change has a negative impact on business, while others think it provides more business opportunities. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Certainly, some argue the effects of climate change on businesses are adverse while others believe they are opportunities to grow. In this essay, I will explain both sides and give my opinion. There are, admittedly, companies that are profiting from climate change, and one way is through the promotion of sustainability. As consumers realize the impacts of rising carbon emissions, many of them change their behaviour to reduce their use of fossil fuels, often leading, in turn, to them purchasing products and services with a low carbon footprint. Sales of the aforementioned therefore increase. Tesla, for instance, has pioneered technology that allows motor vehicles to fun wholly on electricity with zero emissions, and this has seen its market share in the automotive industry rise significantly in recent years, paving the way for other electric car manufacturers. I feel, however, the downsides of climate change on commercial activities are greater. An obvious one is that it is making some industries become unviable. A good example is agribusiness in countries such as Australia as climate change is prolonging and intensifying droughts, meaning there is almost no water to grow crops or raise livestock like cattle and sheep. This typically results in an increasing number of farmers leaving the land. Another is that there are more catastrophic weather events and they frequently destroy property and infrastructure. When there are cyclones and bushfires caused by dry lightning. businesses can lose electricity and internet services and ever Sustain irreparable damage, which potentially causes closures and staff to be let go. In conclusion, while climate change can lead to further business opportunities, I think that they are accompanied by the detrimental impacts discussed above.