Consumer goods have become the most important part of people’s lives. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is irrefutable that society's dependency on consumer goods has dramatically increased over the last few decades. There are myriad reasons for this situation. While some people believe that this change in society has several benefits, others think it is not an ideal change for the future. In my opinion, the benefits that consumer goods bring to us are more than the drawbacks we have from them. On the one side, consumer goods have made the lives of public much more comfortable and things are more easily accessible. Goods such as washing machines, and microwaves have made household chores simpler. For instance, using computers, we are now able to order online groceries and daily needs from our house comfortably. Moreover, the ready-made foods available these days have reduced the time people need to spend in the kitchen preparing meals. On the other hand, increased production and usage of these consumer goods have also brought in lots of adverse impacts such as pollution, unhealthy foods and health issues. Firstly, people have become more sedentary since all the goods and household items are readily available to purchase at stores which reduced the manual effort required at home. This has resulted in health issues such as obesity and cardiac problems in many people. Moreover, studies have shown that the electronic equipment at home that emit electromagnetic and radio signals has a high risk of causing neurological issues in children. Hence, the increasing dependency on consumer goods has several bad effects on people which cannot be ignored. To summarize, the reliance that people have on consumer goods has surged over the last several years. Despite the few problems that consumer goods have caused such as health problems and pollution, there are a lot more benefits that these products have brought to human life.