you should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.Write at least 250 words.

Today’s commercial environment is quite competitive. Businesses usually need to have new products every season to ensure they won’t be forgotten by the consumers. People are easy to be attracted their attention to new things, therefore, if businesses have new products, they can run a sales campaign for that. Meanwhile, their brand popularity and the sales of original products can be increased. On the one hand, I usually think positively when advertisements claim that they have a new flavour, new technology or upgraded formula. Take Tim Tam for example, which is a local chocolate brand in Australia, besides original flavour, I can see tens of different flavours on the shelf. I believe that these novel flavours don’t as popular as the original one. However, the company always offers a discount to promote its new products. As a chocolate lover, I would love to give it a try and usually it is quite nice. On the other hand, if the business doesn’t make any change or upgrade to its products, but still make false advertising for promotional purpose. I think it is a negative development. For instance, a skincare company advertises that they made a new product. Nonetheless, if you look at the ingredients, you will find out nothing has changed at all. The company just revised its product’s name to fool its customers. To sum up, I believe that it is necessary and a good way to advertise that their product is new in some way for businesses. I think that it encourages the company to take time to make new products for the market and provide more options for customers.