A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this fact.

In the present age, people prefer to go on holidays to take a break from their daily lives and to stay fresh and active. These people boost the economy of the area where they go and provide a livelihood to the local people. However, this may go wrong as well sometime if not properly monitored. This essay will look at the reasons and propose some solutions. Firstly, tourists explore these attractions in groups or with their families so they use a vehicle as a medium of transport. For example, some crowds prefer to ride in a car instead of locally available transport. As a result, traffic can be observed in these kinds of places. The solution for this is that the authority should promote local transport facilities and encourage tourists to use the same. Secondly, wanderers do not have a tendency to keep places clean. They think it is the responsibility of the ministry and the local folk to keep the sites clean. Therefore, they litter the places without any hesitation which could be a source of diseases. To tackle this issue the ministry should impose strict rules for such kinds of activities including some punishment. Thirdly, there can be a tourist who wants to harm the identity of the place or local community. This person can easily get to the place if proper screening is not in place at the entrance. For instance, the extremist might come as a tourist as it makes it easier for them to enter. The way forward could be to put a proper screening of the tourists at the entrance of the area. To sum up, tourism can also be a source of issues due to reasons such as huge traffic, less cleanliness, and a threat to the local community. These serious problems can come along with tourism. My view is that the main responsibility for solving the problem lies with the authority.