Today much of the food people eat gets imported from farms that are thousands of miles away. Would the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, there are farms and lands where products are grown located far away from the cities. Although it demands much more finance for transportation, it makes the city looks more modernized and urbanization can develop without barriers. In addition, animals in farms do not be affected by the emission of cars in a residential area, consequently, the quality of food be higher. In modern society where transportation has been improved, the service’s cost is times higher than in the past, so it makes the discount rate higher. People should spend most of their income on food because the price of fuel rises a lot. For example, fruits from tropical countries are more expensive, due to the transportation fee being included. Nevertheless, it is not as big a problem as the consequences of farms in the city. In terms of urbanization, farms require an enormous field to care for animals and the production process which plays a role in the quality of food. Urban areas are fulfilled by humans and their needs which makes megapolises more polluted, so it can harm the health of animals of farms in residential areas. Because the emission from factories and cars constitutes most of their air. For instance, in Pekin where a lot of factories work, there are no possibilities to produce healthy food. However, China is considered one of the most developed countries with numerous skyscrapers. To conclude, despite the transport expenditure on food, it is much more profitable to have farms located far away from the city, since the standard of food will not change and urbanization will not face any problems in terms of visuality.