In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have positive or negative effects on society?

It is true that there is a continually rising trend of the aged in many countries. This phenomenon actually has brought lots of disadvantages to our society far more than advantages, although there might be some merits. On the one hand, the influence of an increasing proportion of older people on economic development、technological creativity and social atmosphere is negatively obvious(1). Firstly, as we all know,with the incoming ability declining and consumption conception changing, the aged have a lower buying willingness, such as less shopping and entertainment activity, thus resulting in companies are hard to sell the production and the whole economy of society goes into a lower development.(2). For example,my grandfather hardly buys clothes and shoes for him. Secondly, the development of technology will conquer difficulties as older people are occupying the main proportion of a country’s population, because they have fewer possibilities to give new ideas, which is critical to innovation. Thirdly, the government has to raise the tax income from the younger public to build the elderly's welfare system, such as giving their pension,which means the young workers have to face the problem of declining salary and are placed under huge life pressure, thus mentally healthy problems will probably emerge among the whole society. For example, Japan, which is a typical aged country, is seeing a growth of high suicide rates. On the other hand, on the road to development, a nation may go the wrong way without the various experiences of the elderly. Some of their failure or success could teach both individuals and social groups in many aspects. In one word, economy、technology as well as individual life are linked with social population sectors closely. It is clear that our society has been confronted with huge pressure because of the growing elderly population in many countries.