A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this fact.

In today's world every individual is occupied in his life, spending vacations is the only and effective stressbuster. Therefore, the masses enjoy their holidays in the limited tourist hot spots, thereby putting immense pressure on the available resources. Therefore, tourism has benefits and drawback, which will be enlisted in this essay. The most crucial benefit of tourism, it generates employment for the local people, namely hotel staff, transporters, and guides, so these staffs become bread earners for their families. The recent report from the Ministry of Tourism, for instance, states that in Maldives 95% of the workforce is engaged in the travel industry as compared to the IT sector. Besides, this tourism also bolsters culture and the latest technology exchange, consequently; kids from these backward geographies can learn new methods and skills. Despite the merits, there are few de-merits and the most pivotal is the pollution and stress on the limited resources. Because the remote locations have limited parking space and roads are narrow, as a result, there are traffic jams, hence their harmful gases are emitted. Furthermore, during these blockades, drivers press unwanted horns, which induces noise pollution, and destroys the natural habitat of animals. To summarise, there are always two sides to a coin, and the same analogy has been drawn in the tourism industry. Looking at the pros and cons mentioned above, I am inclined to say that the advantages have empowered the disadvantages, and the local bodies can implement a few measures to control and counter these.