In order to solve traffic problems government should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. Advantage and disadvantages?

In recent decades, due to a number of traffic problems such as traffic congestion and minor incidents, it has been argued whether governments ought to allocate more taxes on private car owners, and budget for public transportation sectors. In my opinion, lower environmental pollution and accidents can be led by the circumstance; however, the economic status of governments should be considered to implement the law. Firstly, it might be said that fewer accidents would take place because of the reduced number of vehicles by charging a heavy tax system on the car owners. In addition, the phenomenon naturally leads to a decrease in detrimental effects on environmental contamination with less amount of gas emissions and greenhouse gas. Furthermore, more financial assistance from the government in South Korea allocates to enhance the quality of public transportation. Thus, to solve traffic problems and environmental issues, it is mandatory for federations to apply higher taxation to car owners. On the other hand, travelling or commuting by their own vehicles significantly consists of most nations' economic growth. If people decide not to drive their own transportation, the usage of fossil fuel, the sales of vehicles, and international trade between countries will be decreased undoubtedly. Therefore, this vicious cycle certainly will affect the economic status of the world. Although spending money to improve public transportation and heavy tax system could act as temporary solutions to solve traffic problems, governments should think about the economic cycle. In conclusion, even though drawbacks exist with the implementations, governments need to adopt the law on individuals' life prudently considering the economic status.