The first car appeard on british road in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on british roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

The immense growth in car ownership can be noticeably seen. Some are of the opinion that populations should opt for other means of transportation to commute; in addition, strict regulations are deemed to be applied to make a rigid control of automobile use. I utterly concur with this point of view for the following reasons. On the one hand, there is a plethora of options for residents to commute. Cycling to work has increasingly become a cultural norm, which allows cyclists not only to improve their physical health but also to reduce the overall emissions of harmful gases. Moreover, the system of public transportation has been willingly upgraded to fulfil the required need of traffic. Buses and trains are available at present to various specific areas with numerous ships on a daily basis. For instance, a great number of youngsters in Hanoi have altered their ways of travelling around the city to the subway owing to its new appearance and the benefit of putting a less negative effect on the environment. On the other hand, it is largely believed that the authorities should impose stricter laws to limit the ownership of cars. In the modern days of society, air pollution has increased to intolerable levels and governmental regulations to control is pivotal. The growing fee of parking or high taxes when purchasing a private vehicle might have an economical effect on citizens, which partly lowers the demand for owning an automobile and causes fewer repercussions to the environment as a result. In conclusion, I was plainly convinced by the view that more usage of eco-friendly transport methods and newly introduced regulations are of great significance in terms of reducing car ownership and high emissions of hazardous carbon dioxide to the environment.