Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Many people think that obtaining an educational degree is the most effective way to work in a good position. While others suppose that know-how and soft skills are more crucial. In this essay, I will discuss both sides and express my opinion. There is an idea that individuals graduating from university have more opportunities to get a good career because it is the first factor that the recruiters look at the candidates’ CVs before making further steps in the recruitment process. For example, in the Annual Job Fair for newly graduated students organized in the US, big IT companies such as Google or Apple always choose talents based on their degrees and academic results. Furthermore, those students with excellent academic performance can receive job offers from many different employers which in turn provides them more advantages when negotiating the remuneration policy. In other words, students can gain more opportunities to choose the best working place. On the other hand, there are numerous comments asserting experience and soft skills are more substantial. It is argued that practical knowledge and skills are what people obtain and accumulate over a period of time, reflecting each person’s ability in solving issues in reality which are not taught in educational institutions. Furthermore, recruiters are more likely to select candidates with the available experience and skillfulness because they believe that these candidates can adapt to the job duties in a short time. Thus, companies can save a huge amount of money and time on training. In conclusion, both a university degree and experience and soft skills are necessary for candidates to find good jobs. In my view, I believe that educational standard is more important because it can catch the recruiters’ impression in the very first stage of the recruitment process.