Some people believe that one of the best ways to solve environmental problem is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many individuals think that the most effective ways to overcome environmental problem is to rise the price of fuel used by cars and other motor vehicles. For reducing the number of private vehicles used on road, it may be the best solution but the government should also improve its public transportation system. One of the environmental problem comes from the CO2 produced by conventional motor vehicles which mostly use fosil fuel, considered to be nonrenewable energy. The rapid growth of urban population makes more people use their own cars due to its convinience and less time. The impacts for environment, on the other hand, are detrimental as they pollute the air quality and make the earth hotter. Therefore, government can incresea the cost of fosil fuel hopping people changing their means of transportation. This can be effective, if people have other options of transportation. Thus, the authority need to build its trnasportation system to accommodate more consumers. Not only is the system but also the amanities supporting this mode of transportation, such as the comfortable waiting room, ticketing system, affordable fare tickets, and safetiness. They are key ellements to build the public trust to move from private vehicles to public transports. China, for instance, has built shopisticated its metro railways sytem with modern station, time accuration, and convinience. Now, million of city dwellers prefer to use public transportation and they have abandoned their private cars which indirectly increase the air quality due to the low level of motor vehicles used on the road. In conclusion, to alleviate the environmental problem, it is needed to integrate its policy not only incrseasing the cost of energy but also developing and improving the public transportation system to enthral more people involving in this goal