Some people think museums should be enjoyable places to attract and entertain people while others think the purpose of museums is to educate. Discuss both views.

In recent years, museums have become popular attractions for both local tourists as well as those from abroad. Some people argue that museums should primarily serve as places to attract and entertain people while others think that the main function of museums is to educate the general public. In this essay, I will discuss both views. First of all, we cannot deny that museums are many people's favourite because visiting them is usually a very enjoyable experience. It is a place for both young ones and the elderly to visit. Some museums serve as locations for companies to organise exclusive dinners as they provide a unique background to make the experience a very special one. Furthermore, generally we all like places that are pleasant and fun for family to hang out, creating stronger bonds among the family members. Nonetheless, museums are built essentially to educate people about the history and development of a country. For instance, monuments and pictures in museums show what happened in the past. Some historical tools that are displayed in the museums illustrate equipment that was used by our ancestors in encountering their daily life's challenges. All these can teach the younger generations to appreciate the sacrifices and contributions of the previous generations. Moreover, we also learn not to repeat the mistakes that were made in the past, making us a better and stronger nation today. In summary, museums are important places which work not only to entertain the general public, but also to educate us. For this, the government should give more funds to preserve and maintain museums so everyone can be benefitted from them.