Some believe that traffic problems in cities can best be resolved by investing in urban infrastructure while others feel there are superior solutions. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

It is believed by many that the best resolution to traffic -related issues is to financially subsidise a city's infrastructure. However, others discern that there are other viable initiatives that could be taken to mitigate this issue. Whilst I firmly believe that establishing a robust infrastructure is, I also believe that this predicament could be solved by introducing new measures. On the one hand, funding public infrastructure is considered to be advantageous for a number of reasons. Firstly, this approach is able to prematurely curtail the number of automobile accidents on roads since when introducing modern facilities on roads such as lighting systems and high ways' noticeable signs, resulting from improperly planned street signs. This has proved its remarkable efficacy in the newly-established highways in Egypt. Furthermore, ameliorating a state's infrastructure is able to reduce the risk of traffic congestion through the adequate placement of road pumps and the proper distribution of facilities throughout the roads such as hospitals, educational institutions and residential areas. On the other hand, traffic problems could be solved by implementing other measures. One viable solution is funding the public transportation sector since this is able to provide an accessible and convenient alternative for citizens to depend on. This can be witnessed in London which allocates a high proportion of its budget and, therefore, reaped the benefit in terms of ease of traffic flow due to the reduction of the dependence on private vehicles. Moreover, governments ought to intervene in order to encourage cycling on streets which, in turn, is able to reduce the number of vehicles on roads and curtail the risk of traffic jam. Germany, for instance, is blessed with low rates of street congestion as it holds the record as the country with the highest number of bicycles per capita. In conclusion, I am convinced despite the benefits from subsidising the public infrastructure, it is not adequate and other measures ought to be introduced to secure the best solution for traffic problems.