A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that benefits of tourism outweight its drawbacks?

A great number of countries and communities benefit immensely from tourism, in many aspects. However, other people have opposing opinions on this matter, claiming that improper organization can make it problematic. I highly agree that tourism is a large contributor to a country's prosperity and development, significantly outweighing any adverse effects. One of the main advantages of tourism is the economic growth it offers. Not only is it a benefactor to the country's finances, but also smaller private businesses. Also, indirectly it influences the further development of other economic activities. This results in an overall satisfactory increase in income for both the state and individuals, sometimes even serving as the main source. Another advantage is the effect it has on the growth and expansion of the job market. The increase in tourists often results in more available positions in tertiary business activities. Consequently, the percentage of employment increases, which further strengthens the economy. Thus, it also has a role in the increase of household income. For example, recent research conducted by Charles University in 2019 found that the revenue of seaside restaurants and hotels increases by more than 46% during tourist seasons. On the other side, one of the main disadvantages is improperly disposed of waste often left by tourists. This causes an issue for the inhabitants of a country, as they are left with litter and pollution afterwards. This results in the destruction of landscapes and valuable landmarks. For instance, the beaches of tropical places are commonly littered with cans and plastic bags. Hence, the standard of living for the members of the country might be adversely affected. Additionally, prices of goods and materials raise notably during these periods. This is a major issue, especially for local residents in less developed countries with lower incomes. Although it might benefit businesses, prices become inadequate and certain services unavailable due to the insufficient ability to consume them. To conclude, I believe that tourism is mostly beneficial, as it has a remarkable contribution to financial improvement and the further development of a nation. Conversely, raised prices of goods and pollution adversely affect locals. However, this is not always the case, and tourism seasons do not last very long, in most countries.