Shops should not be allowed to sell any food and drinks that has been scientifically proved to be bad for people's health. To what extent do you agree or disagree

What we eat and drink has been known to impact our lives significantly and the measure at which we consume these items have constantly been modified as a result of advancement in research and technology. In recent times, some food and drinks have been labelled by scientific study as being unsafe especially, in relation to health. Some schools of thought are of the opinion that these harmful substances should not be sold in markets. I strongly agree with this proposition as it is has more benefits when compared to the alternative. Firstly, this reduces the economic effect that will arise from sicknesses and diseases. The human body system functions based on what goes into it. Hence, an inflow of good substances into the body implies better functioning of the body whereas taking in dangerous ones cause ill health. When more individuals develop poor health because of this, the government spends more funds to cater for their health which would have been avoided if those substances were banned from shops. An example can be seen in the reduction of birth defects recorded as a result of the ban on the use of thalidomide. Secondly, it also promotes the social wellbeing of the society. Some substances found in food and drinks can negatively influence a person psychologically and socially. These constituents of food and drinks may exert their influence by causing poor vision, delusions or irrational thinking in people who consume them and because of these they may engage in crimes such as overspeeding, theft, rape and so on. But when these substances are prohibited, the access to them is dramatically reduced. For example, the banning of marijuana from the market has caused a reduction in Marijuana related crimes. In conclusion, I agree that unsafe foods and drinks should not be sold in stores because of the deleterious effects it will have on the economy and society.