Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Many health problems nowadays are exacerbated by high sugar intake in the general population. Many processed food and drink have sky-high levels of sugar which is harmful to health. Some people think that these products should be charged higher to discourage people from purchasing them. I totally disagree with this approach as it is going to be a burden to consumers and there are other methods that can help tackle this problem. One of the main reasons that I disagree with making sugary food expensive is that it is going to increase the burden, especially for financially disadvantaged groups. Moreover, we have to admit that everyone would sometimes haas sweet tooth and crave sweet food. If they are made much more costly than they currently are, it will be difficult for people to enjoy them. Furthermore, products like cookies and carbonated sugary drinks are convenient to bring along on the long-hour journeys to give us an energy boost. Another reason I disagree with making sugary products more expensive is there are many other ways to solve this problem. Firstly, adequate education should be given at school so children are aware of the harmful effects of taking too much sugar. Secondly, the government should ensure that the labels for these products are precise and clear so it does not mislead consumers. Frequent awareness campaigns via social media and television can also remind the general public to consume sugar in moderation. In conclusion, I strongly disagree that products with high sugar content should be made more expensive as a way to promote less sugar intake. This method will strain the finances of people, and there are many other better ways to help solve this problem.