Small businesses are disappearing and being replaced by large multinational companies. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this situation?

The advancement in technology and lifestyle has changed the world now. Large multinational companies are growing rapidly across the world. This has its own advantages and disadvantages and in this essay, I will try to shed light on all the possible pros and cons related to this situation. On the one hand, this rise in the growth of multinational companies has a lot of positive effects on society. As these kinds of firms could provide a job to hundreds of people which will ultimately result in low poverty rates and a good lifestyle. Also, these companies provide a good salary package with other facilities such as medical, bonuses, car and other luxuries of life that attracts more people. For example, in Pakistan people working in multinational firms such as Nestle, and Unilever not only have good salaries but also have other facilities including work-life balance, medical insurance, and a stable life. Moreover, this also helps in improving the socio-economic status of a country. On the other hand, this rise in large businesses has badly affected the people working on a small scale. People having skills and who want to start up their own businesses couldn't find a proper market to sell their products. For instance, in Pakistan, inflation and high economic downfall have badly affected these kinds of businesses that were also a source of jobs for a few people resulting in an increase in unemployment percentage and poverty. To conclude, I completely agree that large industries have several advantages from providing jobs to building a positive image of a country around the globe but they also badly affected the industries working on a smaller scale.