A number of tertiary courses require students to undertake a period of unpaid work at art institution or organization as part of their programme. What are the advantages and disadvantages

Art is considered an important illustration of any culture. It demonstrates how our ancestors used to live, think and feel. And for that reason, it holds a huge value and should be further discussed in the future. To begin with, in order to develop a better understanding of your, or, any culture, arts are one of these means. In my opinion, the advantages of introducing students to art during their courses outweigh the disadvantages. Some of the advantages are, giving the students an opportunity to be introduced to a different subject besides their main course, and to be educated about the importance of arts. Lastly, a chance to take a break from studying by being close to a relaxing subject such as arts. However, there are some disadvantages. For instance, putting extra pressure on students by working while studying may result in negative outcomes in both, studying and working, and doing unpaid work may not encourage the student. Especially, when it interfered with the course. Moreover, I do not encourage the idea of forcing someone to take extra jobs or courses even if it was for their own benefit. In fact, different researches suggest that forcing something will more likely have a negative reverse effect. To sum up, working with art will have a positive outcome for the educational system and the community as well. However, we have to consider its negative side effects. And I want to suggest taking more consideration about the risk of requiring a person to do something as it may not give the expected results.