The personal information of many individuals is held by large internet companies and organisations. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent decades, mega internet organisations are collecting personal data of many internet users. And, this phenomenon has made our lives convenient through better shopping experience and expanding our social network. There are some concerns relating to the violation of people's privacy, but advantages of it outweigh the drawbacks. To commence, the primary advantage of data gathering is a better shopping experience. These companies analyse our choices and present us the relevant information. For instance, Amazon provides an option to add items to one's favourite section, consequently, the individual will receive similar product suggestions. Similarly, it filters out the irrelevant information to provide a streamlined shopping experience. Hence, shopping has become easier than before and similar is the case with social networking. Another major benefit is that we can expand our social network using platforms like Facebook and Instagram. To explain further, these websites link people with similar hobbies and interests. Moreover, many individuals prefer to create online groups discussing about particular issues. For instance, Reddit and Quora are one of the biggest discussion platforms. Hence, the world has become more connected than ever before. On the flip side, there has been a rise in the violation of privacy and the fraud cases. To elaborate further, many hackers use this personal data to build illegal investment applications. For instance, many organisations have created online gambling places. Similarly, large organisation are selling this data to other organisations creating advertisement leads. And, use of someone's data without consent is a clear violation of privacy. To conclude, there are far more benefits of data being stored online, however, there should be a regulatory body over these private companies to maintain privacy. Hence, the world can become a better place using our data with right intention.