Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

As there's more awareness of nutrition, the effects of sugary drinks and foods are more studied, and it's proved that they have negative impacts on our health.To save people from these disadvantages, the price of sugary foods should be increased. I agree with this statement as a way to have better health, but, however it may generate unfairness. Two arguments along with examples are explained in the paragraphs below. On the one hand, the effects of sugar on health are so numerous, despite the fact it makes us happier, as it releases more dopamine. However, it causes obesity, diabetes, and various critical health problems. It could generate also mental health problems. For example, as people become more obese, they could start hating themselves and enter into depression. Here comes the importance of this method in helping those people to control their eating. On the other hand, everyone is free to choose his lifestyle, and what to eat. There are several people who like to eat sugary foods despite their negative effects. However, some know how to control their appetite, so increasing prices is unfair for them. For example, my friend doesn't like this idea since she follows a specific lifestyle with a specific amount of sugar in it and she spends monthly the same amount of money on it, when drinks and manufactured food become expensive she can not follow the same lifestyle. In conclusion, I reiterate that sugar is bad for health, but there are a lot of people who are going to be oppressed by this increase.