In the future, people may no longer be able to pay for things in shops using cash. All payments may have to be made by card or using phones. Do you think this will happen one day? Why do you think some pople might not be happy to give up using cash?

As new technologies have been invented, those new technologies have changed the life of the current society in various ways. Especially, some people believed that payments by cash will be terminated soon by being entirely replaced with cards or mobile phones. In this essay, I am going to talk about prospects regarding this issue and what kind of problems can be caused by this change. First of all, I assume that people are going to switch the entire payment method from cash to card or mobile phones in the near future. The first reason for this movement is that it can reduce the possibility of fake bills or coins. For instance, Chinese people already use mobile phones to pay for things everywhere because the current government of China recognized a severe issue regarding fake bills. Secondly, it might solve some problems with tax exemption. Sometimes, cash does not need to be included in revenue, and some people take advantage of it. Additionally, this change will bring more convenience to our life because we don’t need to carry cash to pay for something. On the other hand, I do not think that everyone will be happy with this kind of movement. For the elderly, especially, it is more difficult to adapt to the new method of payment. It is obvious that elderly people who are very vulnerable to new technology will have difficulties because of this change. For example, when smartphones came out into the world, my grandmother had difficulty using the new phone. For her it takes more than 2 months to learn how to use it. She can still use the basic functions of the smartphone. In this regard, it will be challenging for the senior people to use the new kind of method for daily payment. To sum up, It appears to be inevitable that new types of payment methods will dominate the world, terminating the use of cash. That’s because it can reduce the possibility of fake money, solve some problems related to tax, and especially, it will bring more convenience to our life. However, this change may cause difficulties, especially for elderly people who are not familiar with new technologies.