In many countries, crime is increasing. What are the main causes of crime? How can we deal with those causes?

In most countries in the world crime rate is becoming pervasive. I believe that it is triggered by several factors, not only individual-characteristic but also financial factors. In the forthcoming, paragraphs I will discuss both causes and propose measures to widen job opportunities and free psychological counselling to curb the crime rate. First and foremost, the crime rate at the macro level has a direct correlation with poverty. Some people that have difficulties obtaining money are prone to commit or involved in a pecuniary crime. In Indonesian urban areas, for example, the crime rate is very high and the suspects are mainly underprivileged people, and the common crimes that they do are pickpocketing, burglary, or robbery. This economical motivation may be rooted in the density of the urban population, which resulted in the competition to find a job becoming tougher, when an individual is lack qualifications, this could trigger him to commit a crime for financial purposes. However, another aspect that could drive one to commit a crime is undeniably self-characteristic, for non-pecuniary crime, the root of this factor maybe is the individual's psychological state. To eradicate crime issues, governments could try to open more job opportunities,especially for people with lower educational qualifications in urban areas. With more jobs, hopefully people from lower economic conditions can get a job and have more sufficient well-being, and avoid them thinking about committing a crime. Another beneficial method that government could do is providing free professionals consultation for people. Thus, this action will increase psychological well-being among members of society. Subsequently, better mental health, could prevent people's intention to involve in a crime. All in all, poverty and individual characteristic could contribute to the increasing crime rates. Notwithstanding, opening more jobs and free counsellors are good methods that government should implement in order to dwindle crime issues.