Some people believe that history has no value in the contemporary world. But some believe that we still need history to learn from the past. Discuss both viewpoints and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It has truly been said that those who forget history are condemned to repeat it. Although there are people who tend to underestimate or even negate the role of history in the modern day and age, there are many others like me who hold the contrary view and would much recommend a pride of place to the study of history. Speaking for those who do not see much value in the study of history today, it can be said that history is about the past which is dead and buried. They are thinking why we need to look back at forgettable events of the past and curse our forefathers for the follies they committed. Instead of this, they often recommend to look forward to the renaissance of knowledge and science for the wellbeing of humanity. Besides, such people argue that history is often biased, giving the version of the victor rather than of the vanquished. At the other end are the people who believe that history is the gateway for our learning from the past. Unless we study the what’s and why’s of what all people like Hitler did, how will we able to guard against such evil in future? Besides, viewing history from the narrow confines of wars and victories will result in missing out on a lot of fine print. History is also source of past wisdom and a story of human evolution. In conclusion, as I already stated, I would lend my weight in favour of those who hold history as much in esteem as any other field of knowledge.