people who live in large cities face a range of problems

These days, more and more of us are living in big cities, and urban conurbations are expanding all the time. Although cities are very attractive places to live, there are also a host of significant problems such as the high price of housing and transportation as well as deteriorating air quality. To combat these problems, I see a role for the government to supply affordable housing and improve public transportation in city centres. One of the biggest problems facing people who live in cities is high property prices. In many cities, buying a house near the centre is out of reach for those on an average salary, and they are forced to live outside the city and to commute to work. In central London, for instance, the cost of even a one-bedroom flat is prohibitive for many people. To tackle this problem, the government could put more resources into building affordable housing, which would allow more local citizens to buy their own home. This is a tried and tested method which has the effect of increasing supply and therefore resulting in cheaper housing for all. Another issue is traffic and air pollution. Most big cities are overrun with cars, and there is a great deal of traffic congestion. The exhaust fumes from these cars cause air pollution, and as a consequence, more and more city dwellers are suffering from respiratory diseases, such as asthma. This problem could be addressed by introducing a congestion charge for cars entering the city centre, thereby cutting the number of vehicles on the road. Such measures have already seen success in cities such as London, Stockholm and Milan. Finally, another problem is the quality and cost of public transport. That is to say, in most capitals, public transport is inefficient and the infrastructure is old and inadequate. At the same time, ticket prices are often too high, which puts people off using public transport. The way forward must be to invest more money in trains and buses, and to slash ticket prices. This would encourage more people to ditch their private cars use public transport instead. In conclusion, although it is clear that cities face a range of problems, it is undoubtedly possible to start to tackle these issues, and improve the quality of life in cities through government initiatives such as building housing, introducing a congestion charge and improving public transportation.