Some people believe that schools should reward those students who show excellent academic performance while some believe that only the ones who show significant improvement in the grades should be rewarded. Discuss both the views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is no doubt that school curriculums need to modernise and, hence, integrating tablets into classroom activities can be seen as a step forward in education. However, I am strongly against the practice of schools asking parents to supply these gadgets for three reasons. The first reason is expense. Even though some might argue that a basic tablet can be bought for as little as £100, I still believe that this is too much to ask parents to pay from their own pocket, especially for those with more than one child. Moreover, in order to minimise compatibility issues, it is probable that the school will want all of their pupils to have the same model and, therefore, parents won’t have any say in exactly which device they are able to purchase. This brings me to my second reason, which is that tablets are too fragile to be looked after properly by young children. Tablets are made of components that can be easily broken. The screen, for example, could easily become cracked while being carried in a school bag or smashed if accidentally dropped. As a result, the potential cost of replacing even one broke device each year makes the scheme even more unfeasible for most parents. The most obvious reason why parents shouldn’t have to pay for a tablet, however, is that all teaching materials should be provided by a school. While I concede that many learning institutes are facing government cutbacks, I still feel that schools should provide all the tools a child needs to receive an education. If teachers feel that tablets are now a fundamental part of a child’s learning, they should be included in the school ’s budget and, consequently, purchased and maintained by the school. To sum up, not only is it too expensive to ask parents to buy their child a tablet, but it is simply not the responsibility of parents to provide classroom materials. Therefore, despite current cuts in spending on education, I don’t believe that families should have to pay for these gadgets to be used in class.