in some countries, people spend long hour at work. why does this trend happen? is it a positive or negative development ?

these days, more and more people have the tendency of spending almost their time at the workplace dues to their heavy workload and the high demand for well-paid salaries. personally, I hold the belief that the merits of this trend are overshadowed by its demerits. it is worth mentioning that the tendency of working for a long time is attributed to the huge amount of work and their need for wages. firstly, people are often under pressure of finishing their workload because their bosses always want their employees to work in a productive way. as a result, they are unable to recharge their batteries. moreover, overpopulation and inflation can lead to higher prices of goods, especially in big metropolises. therefore, people need to put more effort into working in order to enhance their standard of living. for example, in Dubai, the prices of all goods are prohibitively expensive, so if its citizens do not work hard, they are unable to survive there. despite the aforementioned argument, I strongly believe that this an adverse trend recently. it is true that spending a long-term period at the workplace makes people stressed which is likely to result in some serious mental problems, such as depression. consequently, these people can not work and must depend on others. furthermore, people's relationships with their families and friends would become less tight, as people do not have enough time to keep in touch with them due to their hectic schedules. for instance, in the united states, the rate of divorces has significantly increased since 2019, because more married couples prioritize their career rather than their personal life. in conclusion, it seems to me that the heavy workload and the monthly wages are the main motives for people to stay longer at their offices, in spite of some certain drawbacks. therefore, it is advisable for them to balance their time between working and relaxing.