It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university.  What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

A recent trend among young diplomates has been on the rise, many of them take the decision of undergoing a gap year before starting to study again. Such choice comes with a legion of different benefits and downsides. Personal growth aspect related on the former, lost of time and the risk of never going back to study that are on top for the latter one. Is there a right decision? To start with, the positive aspects of a break between high school and the beginning of university courses could be the possibility of reappraising and set in order personal ideas on one's future plans. Therefore evaluating thing properly with any kind of rush on decision making. A poll highlighted how many adults, supporting this side of the coin as an option for their kids, with the hindsight believe that if they had taken a year to free their mind after diploma they would be doing a different job up to date. On the other hand, starting to work and so generating incomes might turn one's focus hindering their personal will to advance on the academic field. Indeed, a study in Montana, has recorded how 1 out of 5 students allegedly on a gap year once interviewed later on stated that had never come back to study. On second place, many consider a year off just a lost of time because if you are really interested in pursuing an academic career the first rule is not to waste time today because exams themselves will help you in doing so hardening your path. To conclude, in my opinion there is no a right decision over another. What is important is just to take the leap thinking about it with no external influences wether it sis keep on studying or stopping fo a year.