'Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.' To what extent to you agree or disagree with the statement?

There is no denying the fact that the introduction of computer science has turned around the way children play in their leisure time. One school of thought argue that games played on computers are a waste of time and should not be permitted doing so. However, I partially agree with this and believe that playing games on the computer is equally crucial as playing outdoors with friends, both have their own significance. On one hand, Information and technology have created a whole new universe for kids, as they tend to spend most of their moments sitting in from of computers for hours and playing numerous games. Research conducted by a reputed magazine in the year 2020, highlighted that children who play more games on laptops were more likely to perform better in analytical and reasoning exams. In addition, youngsters are also able to gather a deeper understanding of computer-programmings from their younghood, due to which, they can easily establish their career in software development or even programming as well. On the other hand, sitting hours in front PCs could lead to serious consequences, such as decreased eyesight, obesity, or even heart disease in their later stage of life. For instance, an online survey carried out at Harward University, USA, stated that more than 85 per cent of the students who were addicted to computers in their early years were not physically fit and do not like to spend their time in the outside environments or with other people. Hence, it made them introverted. Therefore excess use can also mislead their future and lives. To sum up, without a doubt games played on electronic devices can make a child active mentally, but at the same less adaptive to the real surroundings. Furthermore, I believe that allocating time is front of these devices is not a bad option and involving themselves in outdoor activities is equally beneficial.