It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion ? What sort punishments should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour for children?

Without a doubt, kids should be taught to understand what is acceptable and unacceptable behaviour at an early age and this can be possibly achieved by punishing them. In my opinion, it is crucial for children to learn the basic human values and hence, I completely agree with this notion. In this essay, I will support my ideas with examples and discuss some of the punishments that could be used. Firstly, each parent wishes to upbring their kids in best possible ways. Therefore, it is vital that they should be nurtured with principles that are important to become a good human being. To illustrate, parents generally encourage their child to share their belongings with others. This would especially teach them the value of sharing, which might help them to create bonds. Secondly, kids should be taught to avoid physical fights and resolve the conflicts in peace. Hence, they might learn how to live in harmony. If not, elders must take appropriate actions and make them realise their mistakes. Making things right is one of the characteristics of a good human. So, parents and teachers can probably involve children in social activities when they might behave falsely. One clear example is, schools punish the kids by enrolling them in cleaning public places like beaches, playground, and streets. Due to this, they would not only be a part of a social cause but also provide them enough time to think about their actions. Furthermore, when kids do something wrong, an counter rule should be made to make it even. For instance, my friend forces their children to put a dollar in the jar everytime they misbehave. As a result, they think twice before their actions. In conclusion, I completely concur that nurturing values and inculcating them in the growing age is extremely important. In order to achieve this, some sort of ground rules are to be established and practised.