In recent years, the birth rate in most developed countries is predicted to begin to fall over the next 50 years. By 2070 it is estimated that over a third of the population in most developed countries will be aged 65 and over. What effects will these predictions have on developed countries if they prove true? What can be done now to deal with this situation?

In almost all developed countries, the birth rate is predicted to fall over in the next 50 years. It is estimated that around 33 percent of the population in most developed countries will be ages 65 and over. This prediction will lead developed countries into some problems. One of the problems might occur is the lackness slackness of youngsters in the future. Lack of workforce would lead countries even developed countries into a fall. Every country needs young people which in their productive age to continue the country’s development. If this problem is not handled seriously by the government, worse situations might occur such as, the decrease of country’s income because lack of workforce, the elders would dominate the country which is bad for nations’ development, and the worst one is extinction of the population. These outcomes are caused by several reasons, one of which is the citizen’s readiness to have a child is low. Another thing that might cause this problem are the awareness of the people about ‘overpopulation’, and their surroundings or their workplace which do not supports for families who want to have a child. There are couple of solutions that government could do due to make the birth rate rise again such as, paying the citizens whenever they give a birth to a new-born baby, giving educations through seminars or workshops about the importance of having a next generations for the country’s future, and the last is making some regulations such as banning abortions and supporting birth out of marriage. In summary, the bad effects from the decreased birth rate could affect a nation’s situations. However, a right action is needed from the government in order to increase the numbers such as giving support to a family who are having a child, education through seminars, and enforcing regulations.