Nowadays, more and more older people who need employment compete with the younger people for the same jobs. What problems does this cause? What are the solutions?

At the present time, there is a fierce competition between elder workers and younger staff in order to obtain work. Although there will undoubtedly be some negative consequences of this trend, solutions can be taken to mitigate these problems. There are a number of problems that may stem from the competition of elderly workers to younger workers for the same occupations. The first issue is increasing the rate of unemployment which people make an effort to avoid. This is because companies need physical workers who could work for long hours or carry out heavy jobs such as loading merchandise. As a result, there are no positions for elders in these jobs. However, if businesses want to hire experienced laborers, they should take the elderly into account more than youngsters. The other problem is that this may lead to the difficulty for businesses to think reasonably about the level of salary for each age group working. For example, businesses could not offer low salaries for older staff since they might struggle to provide for their families. However, those companies can offer the salary for young workers who have not yet started their own families. There are several actions that could be taken to mitigate the problem mentioned above. Firstly, the governments should adjust retirement age levels and provide a variety of social benefits for the elderly. For example, official bodies can reduce working age to 55 years old in which workers might perform in their most productive stage, thus creating high profit for companies. In addition, the government should also offer free policies such as providing free healthcare for their families. Secondly, jobs which are less physically demanding should be created for elderly since older workers might want to devote more of their time to their society. Therefore, if they are left unemployed, this will cause resentment in them. To be specific, some occupations such as teaching in remote areas or delivering charity products could help them stay active and recognise that they are invaluable people in their society. In conclusion, there are various problems caused by the issue mentioned above and measures can be implemented to tackle this problem.