Some children spent hours every day on their smartphone. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, young people use their smartphones a large number of hours per day. This is caused by the increase in technology development, where you can find everything you want on your phone. I believe that using these devices for so long does not help them to interact with their peers as well as it causes many distractions which impede them to focus properly. A very important aspect is that the youngest need to develop their intellectual and physical skills during their growing process. The excessive usage of these devices makes the face-to-face interaction particularly difficult. For instance, kids prefer watching movies or series on their phones as well as use it for gaming, disconnecting themselves from the people who surround them, something clearly harmful. Besides, using smartphones for a long period of time may cause a disturbance. One clear example is the improvement and expansion of social networks: children are exposed to a wide range of "distractors" like Facebook, WhatsApp or Instagram. In all these cases, notifications, reels and chats are invading the screen where the kid seems "tempted" to check it out, interrupting the main activity and even causing delays on it. In conclusion, the use of smartphones is not the real problem, what makes it dangerous for children is the time that they spend using them and all that it generates. It is clear that parents must control the phone-usage time frame as well as restrict which activities they can do with these devices.