Violence on television has a negative impact on children’s behaviour. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that watching violence on television has a negative influence on children ’s character. I completely agree with this opinion, because nowadays it is well known that imitation is the main approach children use to learn about life and improve their social abilities. In addition, this content is detrimental to their neurodevelopment during childhood. Children ’s character is created primarily through imitative behaviour. When children are learning, they try to copy people’s behaviour that they have seen that have positive outcomes, while removing other behaviours that they associate with negative outcomes. For example, when children watch a movie in which the main character wins an award through violence, they will copy this action, thinking that in their everyday life it will have the same ending. These imitations have a negative influence on children since they try to solve their problems with violence, omitting other ways that could be better. Although there are many cautions around violent content on television, it is a fact that many children consume this type of entertainment through different types of media, such as television, cinemas, phones, or tablets. For example, it is not uncommon to find children who have watched action movies such as Terminator, Avatar, or Marvel movies. This is detrimental to children's neurodevelopment due to the impact this violence makes on their brains, increasing the violent content they see as underaged people without sufficient knowledge to contrast fiction and reality. To conclude, violence in the media has many developmental drawbacks for children that should be taken into account due to their difficulty to contrast fiction and reality, and because of their use of imitation as the main approach to learning during childhood. In my opinion governments and parents should have greater control over the content their children consume in order to protect them and reduce the negative impact.