Towns and cities are attractive places. Some people suggest that the government should spend money putting in more works of art like paintings and statues to make them better to live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people may argue that allocating money to providing artworks such as paintings and statues in urban areas make these places more livable and attractive. I strongly/completely disagree with this statement as there are many more crucial urban development aspects to consider as will be shown in this essay. First of all, even though works of art, which can be used to decorate towns and cities, may make those places more pleasant to live in, this is not one of the key aspects to consider in terms of improving urban areas. Good public transport is the most important area to spend money on in order to improve urban areas to allow travel easily and fast whereas people may be frustrated if they confront traffic congestion even in a beautifully decorated area. Secondly, construction of green areas is essential as pollution continues to rise in these areas. We need clean places to relax such as parks, where there are many trees, and other places of low pollution, often referred to as the lungs of a city. In addition, it encourages people to improve their health through exercise in a good environment. To conclude, if we consider priorities for spending money on improving urban areas, public transport and green areas should be first considered over putting works of art around the towns and cities. Therefore, I believe that spending higher proportions of a town or cities budget on implementing these options will result in a greater standard of life satisfaction as well as a healthier population.