Nowadays, as a part of the educational process, students work at a company for a short period of time without pay. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, internships and other types of unpaid jobs have been added to the students curriculum. There are several benefits that pupils can gain from this educational reform, such as the development of useful soft skills and a great advantage in order to pursue the career of their dreams. However, this experience sometimes can lead to physical and psychological problems. This essay argues that the advantages of this new educational method don't overcome the disadvantages and it will give reasons for this belief in the upcoming paragraphs. It is undeniable that internships are beneficial for students. First and foremost, they give the pupil the possibility to have a first experience in the world of work so that they can be better prepared to enter the workforce. In fact, working in a real work environment requires you to establish professional relationships with your colleagues, share your ideas with a team, cope with eventual issues. This helps you to develop abilities that you're not able to learn at school such as skills in communication, problem-solving and adaptability. Moreover, schools usually try to arrange your job experience in a company that has to do with your studies and therefore your field of interest. Hence, being an intern in an organisation that you are likely to like, creates the basis for your possible employment! Although, the consequences that this experience can have are terrible. In fact, many young people that took part of it, felt very tired and stressed during and afterwards their internship. They stated that working long hours without earning any money led them to a state of deep depression. Because of that, they weren't able to do their usual activities after the working day such as sports and other hobbies since they felt exhausted and demotivated towards life. Furthermore, sometimes this educational method reveald reveals itself fatal. For example, few years ago in Italy a young boy of 16 years old died during its internship. He was working within a building company and his task consisted in lifting heavy materials in the storage. Unfortunately, one day he lifted something huge that weighed too much which fell over him. Sadly, he got killed by it. This is just one extreme example of how risky can be to let young individuals do what they aren't ready to do. To sum up, even though unpaid occupations during school offer to the student the chance to build some important features and contacts for their future, they can be dangerous and scholars safety should be the priority.