The use of illegal drugs such as heroin and cocaine are becoming more and more common in many countries. What are some of the problems associated with drug abuse and what are some of the possible solutions?

Over time, drug abuse such as heroin and cocaine, is becoming more popular across the world. This essay will look at the issues related to the use of illegal drugs, along with some solutions to help prevent their use. Drug abuse has many disadvantages in the society. Firstly, a large population of people spend most of their income on purchasing harmful drugs. As a result, this not only leads to them having less money for themselves but also affects their families that they need to provide for. Consequently, it is one of the causes for poverty. Secondly, long term use of illegal drugs has major harmful effects on health. Therefore, this causes people using these drugs to either die in a younger age or suffer with health conditions in an earlier stage of life. Without a doubt, finding ways to help cause a decline in drug abuse is vital. I believe, the punishment for using and selling these drugs should become more severe. This will increase the fear of this crime in people and prevent them from committing it. For instance, crimes that have a longer jail sentence or a higher fine have a lower rate of occurrence. Moreover, schools should contribute more hours into teaching students the harmful consequences of illegal drugs. This will make children more aware of its downside and therefore decrease the chances of drug abuse for them in the future. In conclusion, the use of illegal drugs not only leads to a poorer country but also leads to harmful health outcomes and therefore altogether bad quality of life. In my opinion, this can be solved by increasing the punishment for its use as well as concentrating more into teaching the drawbacks of drug abuse earlier on in school.