Not enough students choose science subjects in universities in many countries. What are the reasons and what are the effects to the society?

Choosing a field to study has always been an essential task for high school students as it can directly affect what subjects they can study at University. In recent years, the number of students who decided to enrol in the field of science has drastically declined. In this essay, we will explore the cause of the circumstances and their negative consequences on the community as a whole. Firstly, I believe that the major cause of the lower enrolment rate of science units in universities is due to these units being viewed as difficult to learn and complete. Often, students who choose the science units are those who have better academic grades. Additionally, if students have never completed a science unit during high school years, such as physics, biology, and chemistry, they are less likely to be given the option to enrol in science subjects as most of them required prior knowledge. Furthermore, science units are usually tailored to intelligent students and those who would like to become doctors or nurses in the future. Therefore, the majority of students would choose to study other fields, instead of being in a competitive academic environment. It consequently reduces the number of students taking science courses. The lack of students enrolling in the science units might further lead to a negative impact on society. In particular, there will be an inadequate number of health professionals to cope with the demand of the ageing population. In fact, recent statistics have shown that more than two-thirds of the population in Hong Kong is aged 65 and above, suggesting more healthcare professionals will be in demand to treat and care for the seniors in coming years. As a result, the government begins to provide financial subsidies to encourage students to study health-related subjects for the sake of expanding the pool. In conclusion, being able to study science courses not only have an impact on the students but also the society as a whole. Hence, students should be given the opportunity to enrol in science units while they were in high school. In addition, increased financial support from the government would be vital to expanding the academic pool.