Some people think that schools should reward students with best academic results, while others believe that it is more important to reward students who show improvements. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Academic Achievement has always been celebrated as means of motivation and appreciation. However, there has been a continuous debate on whether we should honour pupils with excellent performance or whether the reward should go to someone who has marked improvements. While I believe that honouring top-tier students has its own benefits, recognizing people’s efforts in pursuing their goals can create a better academic environment for all. On the one hand, people with excellent achievements set role models for others to follow. People tend to look up to someone with greater skills and attempt to copy their ways of success, which creates a progressive competition for various if not better solutions to a problem. For example, schools in China have been celebrating students who pass university entrance examinations with high grades or secure a seat at a prestigious university by putting their pictures on a wall of fame in the most crowded spot on their campuses. As a result, this strategy not only shows their appreciation to people who have put in the effort but also motivates juniors to try harder as the goals are achievable and they can pride themselves one day. On the other hand, I strongly believe that by giving credit to anyone with marked improvements, we can create an environment where everyone feels like they have a chance at thriving since they are not under stress, especially peer pressure from excellent achievers. Moreover, learners should perform better as they will be motivated to outdo themselves each time. For instance, in the book Atomic Habit, it is proven that if we do a little better each day, we are 30% more likely to achieve our goals, which means with better performing and more motivated individuals, schools as a whole will see a huge growth in academic achievement and create a progressive environment for everyone to strive for success. To conclude, offering rewards to anyone who gets to surpass themselves academically could certainly have more advantages to the whole than just recognizing the top learners as it creates less stress as well as encourages them to make progress.